14th Annual International Conference on Community-based Adaptation to Climate Change (CBA-14)

The 14th Annual International Conference on Community-based Adaptation to Climate Change (CBA-14) will take place virtually from 21-24 September 2020. The conference focuses on community-based adaptation, putting the people most vulnerable to climate change at the center of the conversation. This year the virtual conference will have an explicit theme on nature-based solutions for adaptation (NbS). There are also four other complementary themes on climate finance, responsive policy, adaptation technology, and youth stream. 

As part of the NbS theme, a 90 min session will be hosting called Community-led NbS for adaptation: lessons for building back better from COVID-19. This session will bring a variety of speakers together including representatives from local community groups, governments, practitioners from grass-roots organizations and NGOs. Using an interactive format, the session will 1) use storytelling to highlight concrete examples from Africa, Asia, and Latin America that illustrate the potential of NbS for building back better from COVID-19; and 2) ignite a broader policy conversation on holistic approaches to adaptation, including NbS, which can play a critical role in building societal resilience to the most pressing global challenges today. 

The session will take place on September 24th at 7.00 EDT (New York), 12.00 BST (London), 14.00 EAT (Nairobi), 16.30 IST (Delhi), 18.00 ICT (Bangkok).

We would like to invite you to participate in the CBA conference and enrich the discussions on the NbS theme. It is a fantastic opportunity for networking with fellow practitioners, listening to local perspectives, and sharing experiences of effective solutions for building resilience to climate change. Please find more details and a link to register here.For further questions about the CBA conference and Community-led NbS for adaptation: lessons for building back better from COVID-19 session under the NbS theme, please contact Eve Allen (eveallen@mit.edu).

Kanchan Nepal will also participate as a panelist over the session Community-led NbS for adaptation: lessons for building back better from COVID-19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *